Oshkosh Area School District Receives Grants to Expand After-School Programming

posted May 20, 2019, 8:39 AM by Katie Nieman
The Oshkosh Area School District was recently awarded two $100,000 grants from the Department of Public Instruction (DPI). The grants will enable the District to develop a Community Learning Center (CLC) at Webster Stanley Middle School, and continue CLC programming at Merrill Middle School and Merrill Elementary School for the 2019-2020 school year. The grants are renewable for the next four years for a total of $1,000,000. With this addition, the District will be home to nine Community Learning Centers focused on providing after-school programming to elementary and middle school communities. These grant-funded, extended-day learning programs help to keep children safe, inspires them to learn, and allows them to have fun and enriching experiences. 

Within the Oshkosh Area School District, Community Learning Centers provide programs and services that can lead to improved academic student achievement, youth development, and greater family and community connections to school. The program vision is to create lifelong learners and compassionate citizens equipped with the necessary skills to succeed in the 21st century. Working with more than 40 community organizations, the District's Community Learning Centers have brought valuable services to low-income neighborhoods in Oshkosh and made a difference in the lives of thousands of students and their families.

"We are excited to be able to bring this important programming to Webster Stanley Middle School and continue our robust programming at Merrill Middle School and Merrill Elementary School," stated Julie Conrad. "The mission of our Community Learning Centers is to empower students socially and academically by providing unique extended-day learning opportunities in partnership with school, families, and the community. Our programming offers so much more than homework assistance and this funding will allow us to continue to meet the needs of school communities.”

Community Learning Centers within OASD elementary schools are known as Lighted School House programs and are located at Emmeline Cook, Merrill, Roosevelt, Washington, Webster Stanley, and Smith elementary schools. Lighted School House gives students a safe and fun environment to learn and grow academically and socially. The programming includes daily enrichment activities that focus on community partners, literacy, STEM, art, music, and physical activity. At the middle school level, the programming is known as Middle Extended Day Learning Time (MELT) and these programs are located at Perry Tipler, Merrill, and now Webster Stanley middle schools. MELT programming provides time for students to participate in enrichment activities to enhance classroom instruction in multiple areas. Students are also provided time to complete homework and engage in club activities that are based on student interest and input. Through MELT, students build life skills and are supported by positive role models. 

The Oshkosh Area School District is committed to providing valuable programming for children before, during, and after school and this commitment ensures that the District is meeting the needs of students and entire families. In addition to planning for continued sustainability, the OASD regularly pursues grant opportunities in order to continue to support and enhance its programming. 

About the OASD: Building community through education. The Oshkosh Area School District is located in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, serving 10,000 students and operating 14 elementary schools, five middle schools, two high schools, two charter schools and an eAcademy. The mission of the Oshkosh Area School District is to create citizens who are critical, creative thinkers, responsible in their actions, and committed to learning for life by working together with families and communities. For more information visit www.oshkosh.k12.wi.us.