Students Experiencing Homelessness

Students experiencing homelessness are defined as individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, and include unaccompanied youth who are not in the physical custody of a parent or guardian. Students who are identified as homeless will be provided with a free and appropriate public education in the same manner as all other students in the Oshkosh Area School District. However, students who do meet the federal definition for homelessness receive additional rights and protections as a part of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act. These rights and protections include, but are not limited to, the following:

Rights and Protections

Dispute Resolution

Families and youths experiencing homelessness have the right to challenge placement and enrollment decisions. The district will immediately enroll the student in the school in which enrollment is sought and provide the student with all services for which they are eligible until all disputes are resolved. Any dispute regarding the enrollment or assignment of a student experiencing homelessness will be referred to the district’s homeless liaison for expeditious resolution. 

Contact Information

For school specific questions related to homelessness, contact the school social worker at the respective school:

Mackenzie Harness (mackenzie.harness@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • Early Learning
  • Ready for Learning

Chari Jensema (chari.jensema@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • Carl Traeger Elementary        
  • Carl Traeger Middle            
  • Read Elementary             
  • Washington Elementary

Rebecca Holmes (rebecca.holmes@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • Perry Tipler Middle
  • Franklin Elementary            
  • Lakeside Elementary        
  • Roosevelt Elementary

Jodi Gunckel (jodi.gunckel@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • South Park Middle
  • Shapiro Elementary            
  • Jefferson Elementary        
  • Oakwood Elementary

Hannah Dumke (hannah.dumke@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • Merrill Middle                
  • Merrill Elementary            
  • Oaklawn Elementary

Michelle Smithson (michelle.smithson@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • Webster Stanley Middle        
  • Webster Stanley Elementary     
  • Emmeline Cook Elementary


Leah Olson (leah.olson@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

Lynn Ryerson (lynn.ryerson@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • North High  

Courtney Wagner (courtney.wagner@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • West High  

Elysabeth Meehan (elysabeth.meehan@oshkosh.k12.wi.us)

  • Second Chance            
  • WIT                    

              
                    

Homeless Liaison 

For more information on homelessness or the dispute resolution process, contact the OASD Homeless Liaison: 
Matthew Kaemmerer, Director of Pupil Services
(920)-424-0113
matthew.kaemmerer@oshkosh.k12.wi.us